STCW stands for the "Standards of Training and Certification for Watchkeepers" and are global nautical training standards that are set by the International Maritime Organisation (IMO), a Division of the United Nations . All countries that are members of the IMO (currently 167) are required to comply with their training standards. The 5 Basic STCW courses that are required for working on Superyachts or to obtain the IYT Master of Yachts qualifications are:

STCW Personal Safety and Social Responsibilities

STCW Personal Survival Techniques

STCW Basic Fire Fighting and Fire Prevention

STCW Proficiency in Maritime Security Awareness

STCW Elementary First Aid